How do I look? Megane Quashie, Singer, 27


[from The Independent]

How do I look? Megane Quashie, Singer, 27

Interview by Charlotte Philby
Saturday, 13 December 2008

Portrait by Immo Klink

“I’m Finsbury Park through and through. You see that in my attitude and you see my attitude in what I’m wearing.”

I’m bringing the ghetto back to retro. But in a good way – not like I’ve got a gun and I’m going to mug you. This is a ghetto with love. I usually go for Sixties and Eighties styles, always from vintage stores, and add my own touch with a bit of gold. It makes it more daring. I don’t want to be too nice.

Jumpsuits are my stage outfit for 2009. Last year I was feeling girly so I was doing shorts or leggings with T-shirts with big slogans on the front. Now I feel I’m maturing into a woman, so here’s the new look. It’s like with everything, you grow and your tastes change. By next summer I’ll probably go a bit wilder.

I’m Finsbury Park through and through. You see that in my attitude and you see my attitude in what I’m wearing. I’m off to the States and I’m taking London with me. Austin, Texas, might be a bit confused. I want to provoke a reaction. I want to make people curious.

I’m bolding up for our American tour. I’m going for violent-coloured jumpsuits – red, yellow, pink. That’s what my band Black Cherry’s music is about, that’s our formula. We’re aggressive in a positive way. It’s interlinked: you hear the music, you see the band; you don’t forget us.

With a big-breasted lady, you get belts. Belts even you out so you’re in proportion. This one’s from Absolute Vintage at the top of Brick Lane, London E1. Big necklaces work as a distraction too. The fans love that. I used to wear a big dollar sign or a chain reading WORD. I get medallions made for me wherever I go.

It’s a black woman thing. When you have the luxury of hair extensions and weaves, having your hair cut off one day and long again the next, you do your hair. My cousin’s brilliant at all that so I get spoilt. I wanted a bob for ages but didn’t have the balls. But as with everything else, it’s time for a change. You’ll be seeing me in a pink leotard.

Black Cherry are playing at South by Southwest festival in March 2009; myspace.com/blackcherrymusic

Leave a Reply

